Peloton Watch
  Australian National Championship Courses Unveiled  
  November 14th 2012  
  The courses for the 2013 Australian National Road Championships were unveiled on Wednesday. Events are being held in Ballarat and Buninyong, starting on Wednesday 9 and running till Sunday 13 January 2013.

Both the Men's and Women's Road Races will feature a new 27.8km starting circuit before finishing on the 10.2km Buninyong circuit. With the total distance being just under 200km for the Men and just over 100km for the Women.

Speaking at the launch Matt Goss said "this new course opens the door a little more for the sprinters so I think the 2013 race is going to be an open and exciting one"

Race Director, Sean Muir said "The new section of the road race course refreshes the event for participants and spectators alike."

Another important addition is that for the first time the Time Trials will be held on fully closed roads.

Commenting on the new time trial course Muir said "the new course will encourage the use of the entire road thus allowing for a faster and more dynamic time trial." With likely starters including defending Champion Luke Durbridge, previous winner Cameron Meyer, last years U23 winner Rohan Dennis, Michael Hepburn, the team Sky Duo of Michael Rogers and Richie Porte and others it is sure to be an exciting event.

Before the Men's Road Race on Sunday the program features Amy's Ride. A recreational ride featuring three distances, 20km, 70km and 100km.

2013 National Championship Schedule

Wednesday 9th January Lake Wendouree, Ballarat

U23 Men's Individual Time Trial (29km)
Elite & U23 Women's Individual Time Trial (29km)
Elite Men's Individual Time Trial (37km)

Thursday 10th January Sturt Street, Ballarat

U23 Men's Criterium (33km)
Elite & U23 Women's Criterium (33km)
Elite Men's Criterium (44km)

Saturday, 12 January Geelong Rd, Buninyong

U23 Men's Road Race (137km)
Elite & U23 Women's Road Race (107km)

Sunday, 13 January Geelong Rd, Buninyong

Amy's Ride
Elite Men's Road Race (~195km)
 © 2016