Peloton Watch
  2014 Santos Women's Cup Route Announced  
  December 9th 2013  
  Cycling South Australia has announced the rounds for the 2014 Santos Women's Cup. Held between the 19th and 21st of January during the Tour Down Under. While the traditional criterium feel remains there is one major change. The second round has become a road race including part of the Tour Down Under Route.

The first round held on the 19th of January will be a 40 minute criterium on the new Adelaide CBD route as used by the People’s Choice Classic.

The race moves to Angaston for a second round Road Race that includes the second and third laps of the first stage of the Santos Tour Down Under. The route covers the Mengler's Hill climb (1.25km, average of 8% with max of 18%). The second round is likely to leave the overall competition more open to riders who are not pure sprinters.

The final round is a flat 45 minute hot dog criterium in Prospect. With two of the three rounds suiting the sprinters they still have an advantage in the overall standings, but those climbers with a fast finish will also be in the mix.

Australian Criterium Champion Kimberley Wells won the 2013 edition ahead of Nicole Whitburn and Jenny MacPherson. Wells' dominated the event winning rounds 1 and 3 and taking second on round 2 after Joanne Hogan held off the chasing peloton. The previous years winner was multiple World Time Trial Champion Judith Arndt.

Round Details and Maps from Cycling South Australia (Opens in new window).

Round 1
Round 2
Round 3
 © 2016