Peloton Watch
  Start List   2015 Australian National Championships  
Event Home
Event Results
  U23 Men's Road Race Preview  
  In 2014 Caleb Ewan was in a league of his own, attacking on the climbs multiple times before winning the sprint from the select group ahead of Rob Power ad Bradley Linfield.

Of the three only Power returns with Ewan stepping up to the elite ranks and Linfield not riding.

2014 Results

1 Caleb EWAN
2 Robert POWER +0
3 Bradley LINFIELD +0
4 Harry CARPENTER +0
5 Shaun O'CALLAGHAN +0
6 Thomas HAMILTON +0
7 Robert MCCARTHY +3
8 Alexander CLEMENTS +5
10 Jack HAIG +9
11 Campbell FLAKEMORE +27
12 Jordan DAVIES +27
13 Conor MURTAGH +27
14 Sam CROME +27
15 Nicholas GRAHAM-DAWSON +27

Past Winners

2014 Caleb Ewan
2013 Jordan Kerby
2012 Rohan Dennis
2011 Ben Dyball
2010 Michael Hepburn
2009 Jack Bobridge
2008 Simon Clarke
2007 Wesley Sulzberger
2006 William Walker
2005 Chris Sutton
2004 Rory Sutherland
2003 Jonathan Davis
2002 Simon Gerrans
2001 Graeme Brown
2000 Andrew Stalder

The Route

13 laps of the 10.2km course around Buninyong. The infamous climb of Mount Buninyong Road is the main feature on each lap, topping out after around 2.5km in to the lap.

The Contenders

Full start list available here

Robert Power

Power finished a narrow second last year to Caleb Ewan. A month later Power dominated the under 23 road race at the Oceania Championships. Multiple wins in Europe and second at the Tour de l'Avenir. A hillier course would be more suited to Power but taking the win this year is well within his reach

Harry Carpenter

Second in the time trial and fourth in the road race last year before claiming the Oceania time trial title and fourth in the road race. Spent last season in Europe riding with the Jayco-AIS World Tour Academy squad. Carpenter’s strength comes against the clock but has proven to be a skilled one day rider.

Jack Haig

The best young rider at the Tour Down Under and Herald Sun Tour in 2014 and finished second at the Tour Alsace. Developing in to one of the most promising general classification riders coming out of Australia. Third in 2014 and tenth last year but with his focus now 100 percent on the road is getting stronger every race. Just missed the time trial podium finishing fourth. It is a sign of good form.

Alex Edmondson

Despite still being an under 23 Edmondson has been at the top of Australian track cycling for a number of years. A regular winner for SASI in the NRS and has spent time with Jayco-AIS WTA. A very strong sprint and can climb reasonably well. If the climbers cannot distance Edmondson on the climb then he stands a very good chance of winning. Edmondson has just come off the track and will be heading back for track nationals so don't expect him to be on his best road form.

Chris Hamilton

Hamilton won the criterium in commanding style breaking away and winning the two up sprint. A mountain biker who is well suited to the course. With teammate Jack Haig in the race may have to play a support role but Hamilton showed he is on some great form.

Robert-jon McCarthy

McCarthy is one of the few people in Australia who can say he has beaten Caleb Ewan in a sprint. McCarthy won the 2012 Junior Road Race title ahead of Caleb Ewan. Last year he picked up wins in Herald Sun Tour and An Post Ras. Arguably the fastest man in the field and finished just three seconds behind Ewan last year showing he can handle the course.

Oscar Stevenson

Stevenson finished sixth in the Oceania Championships in 2014 but injury impacted his season. One of the names to watch in the time trial but is likely to put in a strong performance in the road race. Won the Tour of Bright at the start of December in no small part due to his climbing ability. Will need to attack if he wants to beat out some of the quick finishers. After finishing second by just four seconds in the time trial expect Stevenson to come out firing and chase the gold.

Shaun O'Callaghan

O’Callaghan rides for the African Wildlife Safaris and the 21 year old finished seventh in the front group last year. One of a number of riding stars of Australian cycling and a strong performance here will further propel him up the ranks.

Jai Hindley

Hindley claimed bronze in the junior national and Oceania road races in 2014 and earned selection for the road race at the World Championships. A strong climber who finished in the front group at the World Championships. Without a strong sprint and as a first year under 23 it will be difficult but don’t discount a strong performance.

Daniel Fitter

Silver medallist in the Junior road race last year before claiming gold and bronze in the team and individual pursuit respectively at the Junior Track World Championships. Since stepping up to the elite ranks on the track Fitter has claimed the Oceania Individual Pursuit title. Packs a quick finish from a select group.

Alistair Donohoe

2014 World Champion in the Para C5 Time Trial is strong against the clock but also packs a very quick finish. A regular on the podium in stages of the national road series. Was flying at the Para Track Championships in December and could be the big surprise.

Miles Scotson

Scotson won the time trial to claim his first under 23 national title. The team pursuit Track World Champion's strength is against the clock but don't discount him from doing the double. A quick finish makes him dangerous from a select group. How he handles the climbs with some very strong climbers will be interesting.

Alex Clements

Clements finished eighth last year before going on to finish 12th at the Herald Sun Tour and spending the remainder of the season with Jayco-AIS World Tour Academy squad.

Other names to watch: Jack Beckinsale, Jesse Kerrison, Nicholas Schultz, Jack Cummings, Mathew Ross, George Tansley, Jesse Ewart, Nicholas Graham-Dawson, Jesse Kerrison, Luke Parker, Timothy Sellar, Ayden Toovey, Tom Kaesler and Ryan Cavanagh.
 © 2016