Peloton Watch
  Start List   2015 Australian National Championships  
Event Home
Event Results
  Women's Individual Time Trial Preview  
  Last year Felicity Wardlaw broke Shara Gillow's run in what was one of the three upsets in the time trials in 2014. Pre race favourite and Commonwealth bronze medallist Katrin Garfoot has withdrawn due to injury.

2014 Results

1 Felicity WARDLAW
2 Shara GILLOW +32.2
3 Bridie O'DONNELL +37.1
4 Katrin GARFOOT +38.2
5 Tiffany CROMWELL +54.8
6 Gracie ELVIN +1:02.5
7 Amanda SPRATT +1:46.0
8 Taryn HEATHER +1:53.6
9 Lauren KITCHEN +2:43.8
10 Louisa LOBIGS +2:52.7

Under 23 Podium

1 Jenelle CROOKS +3:09.5
2 Emily ROPER +3:12.6
3 Jessica ALLEN +3:47.2

The Route

A new course for 2015 sees riders compete on a 29.3km undulating course. There is not one flat kilometre, which should make it interesting.

The Contenders

Full Start List available here

Felicity Wardlaw

After dominating time trials domestically Wardlaw caused an upset beating Shara Gillow in 2014 by over half a second. A lack of time trials in Europe in 2014 saw few opportunities for Wardlaw to show herself and missed selection for the Commonwealth Games and World Championships. Her strength against the clock is well known but the course this year with the constantly changing undulation suits her less. Expect a strong showing but winning again will not be easy.

Shara Gillow

Gillow missed out on a fourth national title in a row, when a flying Wardlaw took a commanding win in 2014. Gillow quickly turned it around a month later when she dominated the Oceania Championships. Gillow had a difficult season far from her best and only managed sixth at the Commonwealth Games. An injury saw Gillow miss the World Championships and end her season early. The undulating terrain suits Gillow who will be looking to regain her crown.

Taryn Heather

The 2013 Oceania Champion had a strong season in Europe, including finishing third at the Nagrada Ljubljane TT and helping Bigla to seventh at the World Championships in the TTT. Finished second in both 2011 and 2012, if Heather can re-find that form could again be contending for the medals.

Bridie O'Donnell

The 2008 winner is now 40, but still highly competitive. Silver in 2010 and bronze in 2012 and 2014. With a long list of younger riders advancing through the ranks repeating her past podium performances could be difficult. Don't discount O'Donnell though, she has experience on her side and her bronze last year shows age doesn't matter.

Ellen Skerritt (U23)

Mostly known as a climber but since her mid 2014 season return from illness and injury Skerritt has proved to be one of the best all rounders in Australia. Only 20 and a genuine contender for the under 23 title but Skerritt could also find her way on to the elite podium. Fifth in the time trial at the Tour of the King Valley before winning the race against the clock at the National Capital Tour.

Janelle Crooks (U23)

Won the under 23 title last year by just three seconds ahead of Emily Roper who finished fourth at the Junior World Championships in 2012. Spent some time racing in Europe last season with the national team with her best result 19th overall at Internationale Thüringen Rundfahrt der Frauen. Strong against the clock and will again be competing for the under 23 title.
 © 2016