Peloton Watch
  Calendar   2015 Australian Madison Championships  
Event Home
Start List
Race Preview
Event Results
Past Winners
  2015 Australian Men's Madison Championships Preview  
  The 2015 field is one of the strongest seen with Madison Kings; Cameron Meyer and Leigh Howard, World Champions in 2010 and 2011 returning to the boards. Tho duo also claimed the National title in 2012 and are joined by other former winners Glenn O’Shea, Jack Bobridge, Miles Scotson as well as defending champion Alex Edmondson.

While it is the Australian National Championships international teams are invited to enter and can win but are not eligible to claim the national title. Because of the added dynamic of an already interesting event the international teams are often given room to take laps and the overall win while Australian pairings mark each other for the Australian title.

Full start list available here

Teams to Watch:

Cameron Meyer and Leigh Howard

The Madison Kings, World Champions in 2010 and 2011, silver in 2009 and bronze in 2012. For the past two years they have focused on the road but they are back to reclaim the title they last won in 2012. Both have also claimed National Madison titles with other partners. Both are former team pursuit World Champions, while Meyer has three points race World Championship titles to his name and Howard has one in the omnium. When it comes to the sprints or taking laps the duo have it covered and despite not racing on the track for the past two years they are two of the best track riders of their generation. Expect to see them put on a show.

Glenn O’Shea and Jack Bobridge

The 2007 Champions are back together after O’Shea won in 2008 and 2010 and Bobridge in 2011 with other partners. The talent of Bobridge on the track needs no explaining and nor O’Shea who is one of the best Madison/Six Day riders in the world as well as a former World Champion in the omnium. Bobridge may have only just returned to the track but picked up gold in the team pursuit with O’Shea at the Commonwealth Games as well as in the individual pursuit. While both are fast finishers expect to see them aggressive and looking to take laps.

Alex Edmondson and Miles Scotson

Edmondson is the defending National Champion having won last year with partner Luke Davison. With Davison sitting out the competition this year Miles Scotson joins his fellow team pursuit World Champion for the event. Scotson himself is a strong performer in the discipline having won in 2013 and having finished a close second last year. A dangerous combination, who will no doubt be a challenge the two pairings above.

Sam Welsford and Scott Sunderland

Despite just stepping up out of the junior ranks Welsford is already showing his potential at elite level. Welsford claimed silver in the U19 Madison in January and fourth at the Junior World Championships in August. Sunderland continues his switch to endurance after successfully defending his 1km time trial title at the Commonwealth Games. Might be less experienced than other pairings but they should not be discounted. Welsford is the reigning Oceania Champion with Scott Law.

Regan Gough and Luke Mudgway

The pair from New Zealand may not be eligible for the national title but they are likely to have a big impact on the race. Gough and Mudgway are the reigning Junior World Champions and also won the Madison at the BikeNZ Cup. Just stepping up from the junior ranks to a field this strong could be a challenge. Regardless of their finishing position the experience will be invaluable for the future.

Scott Law and Jackson Law

The Law brothers finished ninth last year but a year older and more experienced could see them advance up the standings this year. Both have been showing strong form on the track and in criteriums recently. Scott teamed up with Welsford to claim the Oceania Madison title in October, while Jackson claimed the silver.

Callum Scotson and Dan Fitter

The pair have just stepped up to elite ranks after claiming team pursuit gold at the Junior Track World Championships in August. Dan Fitter was part of the Australian team that claiming gold in the team pursuit at the Guadalajara World Cup in November. Both are excellent pursuiters, with their best chance likely to be trying to take laps in combination with some of the stronger teams above.

Other teams to watch: Reece Tucknott/Michael Freiberg, Tirian McManus/Nick Yallouris and Christian Grassman/Martin Hacecky.
 © 2016