Peloton Watch
  Calendar   2015 Australian Track Championships  
Event Home
Women Sprint
Women Endurance
Women U19
Men Sprint
Men Endurance
Men U19
Past Winners
U19 Women
U19 Men
Event Results
  Men Sprint Preview  
  Multiple Junior World Champions, Senior World Champions, Commonwealth Champions headline the men's sprint events. Rising star Matt Glaetzer, one of the most well known Australian track riders Shane Perkins are joined by Pat Constable, Jacob Schmid, Peter Lewis, Nathan Hart, Emerson Harwood, Braeden Dean, Daniel Ellis among others in an exciting men's sprint field.


Matthew Glaetzer

Not just one of Australia's best but the world's best. The former Junior World Champion won his first sprint title last year and with his win in the time trial and 2012 keirin win became one of the few to complete the sprint triple. Few in the world can match Glaetzer's acceleration when he goes. Fourth in the sprint at the World Championships last year before winning the opening World Cup round in Cali and the Austral Carnival.

Shane Perkins

One of the most experienced members of Australia's track cycling program. After a few health issues the Olympic bronze medallist is back and looking to regain the title he won in 2009 and 2011. Perkins has twice been a World Champion in the keirin and team sprint but the title in the sprint has thus far eluded the former Junior Champion. If Perkins is back to his former level expect to see him challenging for the win.

Pat Constable

Former Junior World Champion in the team sprint made a giant step forward last year. Second place in the Austral behind Matt Glaetzer as well as finding the podium at the BikeNZ Classic and numerous other top 10 finishes at UCI events. Put in a strong performance at his first World Cup in Cali this month winning the 5th-8th sprint final.

Jacob Schmid

Another former Junior World Sprint Champion but unlike Perkins and Glaetzer hasn't quite managed to make the step up yet. A strong 2014 sees Schmid moving in the right direction after claiming his first senior UCI sprint victory at the BikeNZ Cup. Schmid has a very quick turn of speed and if he is on good form will be a contender for the podium spots.

Peter Lewis

2014 was a strong year for the 16th ranked Lewis. Second at both the Adelaide Cycling Grand Prix and South Australian Track Classic before finishing fourth at the Commonwealth Games. Has continued his strong results in the 2014/15 season with seventh at the Guadalajara World Cup and third in at the Austal in September, where he beat Shane Perkins in the ride off the bronze.

Daniel Ellis

2010 winner Ellis is one of a number of former winners who will be out looking to regain his title. Finished 16th at the World Championships but otherwise didn't race much in 2014. Finished ninth at the Oceania Championships.

Other names to watch: Mitch Bullen, Andrew Taylor, Emerson Harwood, Nathan Hart and Braeden Dean.


Shane Perkins

Defending champion and three time winner will be looking to make it four. Has spent a lot of time in recent years on the Japanese keirin circuit and it has made him in to one of the best in the world. In signs he is returning to his best after injury Perkins claimed silver at the Cali World Cup earlier this month.

Matthew Glaetzer

Glaetzer, a former Junior World Champion became Commonwealth Champion in 2014. Every race he competes in his tactics get better and better. With the keirin having a degree of luck to it nothing is certain. What is certain however is Glaetzer's speed, if he is well positioned will be in contention.

Jacob Schmid

Outside of his Junior World Championship victories Schmid's biggest victory to date came in the keirin at the Oceania Championships. If Schmid can get his tactics right he has the speed to pull off the victory and claim his first individual national title.

Andrew Taylor

2013 Champion Taylor hasn't raced much in the past 12 months but when he has, has been round the mark. A narrow second to Schmid at the Oceania Championships in October. Made the final last year finishing sixth. His lack of racing could be a factor but is one of the more experienced riders in the field.

Mitchell Bullen

Bullen just missed the medals last year in fourth and rounded out the podium at the Oceania Championships. A former winner in the sprint, if he can stay out of trouble could well be in with a shot of finding the podium this year.

Other names to watch: Emerson Harwood, Patrick Constable and Braeden Dean.

1km Time Trial

Perhaps the biggest question here is who will ride. Since the removal from the Olympic programme the true test has fallen in terms of priority. In Scott Sunderland and Matt Glaetzer Australia has two of the fastest riders in the world.

Scott Sunderland

World Champion in the team sprint left the sprint disciplines behind to focus on endurance but is still one of the best in the world over 1km. Sunderland set the Australian record of 59.675 in Guadalajara in January 2014. After a mechanical issue at the start last year expect to see the dual Commonwealth 1km time trial champion eager to get the Australian title.

Matt Glaetzer

Glaetzer is the defending champion after posting an Australian Championship Record time of 1:01.175 last year in Adelaide on a very warm day. With his focus on the sprint he may not ride but if he does will be fighting for that top spot on the podium.

Scott Law

An endurance rider but Law with the inclusion of the event in the omnium many endurance riders still focus on it. Law claimed silver last year and is one of the best endurance riders over one kilometre. Won the time trial at the London World Cup with a time of 1:03.513.

Other names to watch: Luke Davison and Nicholas Yallouris.

Team Sprint

Will be added when pairings are known.

Under 19

Derek Radzikiewicz

2015 Junior Oceania Champion in the sprint, keirin and team sprint. Now in his second year as a junior looks to repeat the double at national level. A quick turn of speed sees him the name to watch.

Cameron Scott

Silver in the under 17 sprint and bronze in the keirin last year. The time trial though is where Scott is at his best. Took the under 17 national title last year with an Australian record of 32.998 and followed that up taking the Junior Oceania title in October.

Thomas McFarlane

Reigning under 17 National Champion in the keirin also makes the step up to under 19’s in 2015. Claimed bronze in the sprint and just missed a medal in the time trial.

Ryan Schilt

Schilt, the under 17 national sprint champion from last year makes his first appearance as an under 19. Schilt also claimed silver in the time trial and keirin last year.

Conor Rowley

Bronze in the 500m time trial at under 17 last year and fourth in both the keirin and sprint. Made his debut as an under 19 at the Oceania Championships last year finishing second in the sprint and third in the keirin. As well as taking the team sprint title.

Elliot Stacey

Twelfth last year as a first year junior but Stacey has improved over the past year. Silver in the time trial and bronze in the sprint at the Oceania Championships.
 © 2016