Peloton Watch
  Calendar   2015 EPZ Omloop van Borsele  
Start List
Race Preview
Race Report
Past Winners
  EPZ Omloop van Borsele Preview  
  Racing continues in the Netherlands for the EPZ Omloop van Borsele. The race wraps up three days of racing that including junior races an elite women's time trial before the 136.7km UCI road race. Defending Champion Chloe Hosking caused an upset last year beating Kirsten Wild in a sprint to take one of the biggest wins of her career.

Kirsten Wild holds the record of wins here, with four in a row between 2008 and 2011 and is back looking to make it number five after taking another win at Ronde van Gelderland. There are three other winners Vera Koedooder (2013), Ellen Van Dijk (2012) and Loes Gunnewijk who won the first edition in 2002.

Despite the flat course the location and wind often result in a select group contesting the win. Most of the top sprinters and here but still expect lots of action with others wanting to split the race up.

2014 Results

2 Kirsten WILD +0
3 Eleonora VAN DIJK +0
5 Martina ZWICK +0
7 Gracie ELVIN +0
8 Rossella RATTO +0
9 Nina KESSLER +0
10 Annemiek VAN VLEUTEN +0

Past Winners

2014 - Chloe Hosking
2013 - Vera Koedooder
2012 - Ellen van Dijk
2011 - Kirsten Wild
2010 - Kirsten Wild
2009 - Kirsten Wild
2008 - Kirsten Wild
2007 - Marianne Vos
2006 - Marianne Vos
2005 - Marianne Vos
2004 - Chantal Beltman
2003 - Leontien Zijlaard-van Moorsel
2002 - Loes Gunnewijk

The Route

The 136.7km race starts in s-Heerenhoek for four laps of an opening 24km circuit before four laps of a finishing circuit of 9.88km. Most of the race is held very near to the coast wind is the most important factor in the race.

The Contenders

Start list available here

Chloe Hosking and Wiggle Honda

Wiggle Honda has sprint riches to choose from and here they have defending champion Chloe Hosking who managed to out sprint Kirsten D'hoore last year. Hosking has played a key role in a number of the teams wins this year and as defending champion could get a chance to defend it.

Giorgia Bronzini can always be counted on and when it comes to a sprint she is one of the best in the world. Dani King returns from injury for her first UCI race of the season. Ronde van Vlaanderen winner Elisa Longo Borghini along with Amy Roberts and Eileen Roe round out a very strong squad.

Melissa Hoskins

While Hoskins didn't quite get the result she was chasing on the weekend finishing 11th it is likely to fire her on to get a strong result here. Took two stage wins at the Santos Women's Tour in January before a maiden individual national title in the points race and then the team pursuit World title. The team has other options with Emma Johansson always with the best and former winner Loes Gunnewijk another card to play. Track duo Alex Manly and Macey Stewart are settling in well and will also be important.

Lucinda Brand and Anouska Koster

Rabo might not have a big name contender for the race but both Brand and Koster could produce results. Brand is not a pure sprinter but still packs a quick finish. Was in the top 10 on every stage of the Energiewacht Tour. Expect to see her take advantage of the win. 21 year old Anouska Koster is now on one of the biggest teams in the world and in the right situation could produce a strong result.

Barbara Guarischi

The Italian sprinter has proven to be a good signing for Velocio-SRAM. Has four podium finished and was very close to a stage win at the Energiewacht Tour. Third at Ronde van Gelderland on Sunday.

Kirsten Wild

A delayed start to her road season paid dividends as she claimed gold in the scratch race and bronze in the omnium at the Track World Championships in February. Won Novilon Eurocup in March and added another stage at the Energiewacht Tour. Despite her stage win didn't seem as dominant as she has in the past but then claimed a third win in a row at Ronde van Gelderland showing she is still a force to be reckoned with. Has won here three times 2009-11 and nearly added a fourth title but was pipped by Chloe Hosking.

Boels Dolmans

Ellen Van Dijk has a strong record at the race winning in 2012 from a select six rider group, finished third last year from a 14 rider group and also finished fifth in 2010.

Lizzie Armitstead is capable of winning in a bunch sprint or from a select group. Has bigger targets and is likely to be happy to give one of her teammates a chance to shine here. The team likes to use the tactic of sending riders back to the road and forcing others to chase.

Chantal Blaak is always on the attack and can win a sprint from a select group. Don't underestimate reigning Junior World Champion Amalie Dideriksen who has won a number of sprints from chasing groups this year.

Shelley Olds

One of the most consistent sprinters in the women's peloton but crashed out of Boels Rental Ronde van Drenthe in March. Makes her return here and what her form will be like is a big unknown. Olds is almost always in contention in a sprint and while she has one of the fastest finishes is just not quite as quick as the likes of Wild, Vos and Bronzini.

Vera Koedooder

2013 winner Koedooder is another rider from Bigla who has had injury issues this year. Returned last weekend at Ronde van Gelderland and her 35thplace finish doesn't tell the full story. Was on the attack as she always is and while it didn't work out it shows despite limited racing is on good form. One of the most attacking riders and can always be counted on to liven up the race. Bigla is chasing their first win and knowing Olds can be counted on in a sprint Koedooder can attack and take the pressure off the team.

Amy Pieters

With Lucy Garner not in the line up Pieters will have another chance for herself. Not a pure sprinter but still quick in the line. Her best result of the year was second at Boels Rental Ronde van Drenthe where she nearly upset Wiggle in the finish. Has also finished top 10 at Novilon Eurocup, Gent-Wevelgem, Le Samyn and Omloop Het Nieuwsblad.

Kim de Baat

Not a rider that could be considered a big favourite. Eighth at Ronde van Gelderland and could surprise with another top 10.

Other names to watch: Lotte Kopecky, Janneke Ensing, Tiffany Cromwell, Lauren Rowney, Lauren Kitchen, Floortje Mackaij, Lotta Lepisto, Marta Tagliaferro, Annalisa Cucinotta and Maria Giulia Confalonieri.
 © 2016