Peloton Watch
  Calendar   2015 World Championships  
  U23 Men's Time Trial Preview  
  The under 23 time trial is a very good indicator of the future of the sport. A selection of four recent winners includes Luke Durbridge, Taylor Phinney, Adriano Malori and Lars Boom; four of the best time trialists in the peloton. While Damien Howson and Campbell Flakemore have won the last two editions. Last year Ryan Mullen finished just .48 of a second off and he is back as the big favourite.

Don't expect Mullen to have it all his own way with Steven Lammertink, Mads Wurtz Schmidt and Filippo Ganna just three names expected to challenge the Irish talent.

Past Winners

2014 Campbell Flakemore (AUS)
2013 Damien Howson (AUS)
2012 Anton Vorobyev (RUS)
2011 Luke Durbridge (AUS)
2010 Taylor Phinney (USA)
2009 Jack Bobridge (AUS)
2008 Adriano Malori (ITA)
2007 Lars Boom (NED)
2006 Dominique Cornu (BEL)
2005 Mikhail Ignatiev (RUS)
2004 Janez Brajkovic (SLO)
2003 Markus Fothen (GER)
2002 Tomas Vaitkus (LTU)
2001 Danny Pate (USA)
2000 Evgeni Petrov (RUS)
1999 Ivan Gutierrez (ESP)
1998 Thor Hushovd (NOR)
1997 Fabio Malberti (ITA)
1996 Luca Sironi (ITA)

The Route

Under 23 complete 2 laps - 30km.

The Contenders

Start list and start order available here

Ryan Mullen (Ireland)

Silver medallist last year, missing out on gold by just .48 of a second. Elite Irish time trial champion and finished fourth at the European Championships and eight in the elite field at the European Games.

Won the junior Chrono des Nations in 2012 and under 23 the following year. Mullen's talent on both the track and road has been long known. Has signed a contract for Cannondale-Garmin so the pressure is off but expect Mullen to be as motivated as ever to take gold after being so close in 2014.

Steven Lammertink (Netherlands)

After finishing 14th in the time trial last year it is clear that Lammertink has taken it to a new level in 2015. Is in his final year as an under 23 and with a contract secured with LottoNL-Jumbo the pressure is off but don't think that will stop him chasing a good result.

Won the European under 23 title in August but was only eighth at Chrono Champenois over one minute down in a sign his form may not be where it needs to be.

Mads Wurtz Schmidt (Denmark)

Wurtz Schmidt is an early starter going off two and a half hours before many of the big favourites. One thing is for certain he is likely to set the early benchmark. The reigning under 23 Danish Champion took a big win taking inthe time trial at the Tour of Denmark beating out the likes of Juul Jensen, Boasson Hagen and Rasmus Quaade.

Filippo Ganna (Italy)

Ganna took a strong win at Chrono Champenois finishing 45 seconds ahead of the closest under 23 and Italian teammate Davide Martinelli. While Ganna might have only finished sixth at the Italian Nationals it is clear he has timed his form for the right time. With many of the big names electing to skip Chrono Champenois the biggest question is if his form will be good enough to beat the likes of Mullen, Lammertink and Wurtz Schmidt.

Lennard Kamna (Germany)

Won the junior tile trial world title last year and in his first year as an under 23 Kamna claimed the under 23 German time trial title. Finished 14th in the time trial at Bayern Rundfahrt, just over one minute behind winner Alex Dowsett. Against some more experienced competition it will be difficult to stand on the top step of the podium

Marlen Zmorka (Ukraine)

Seems to put in a good performance at the European Championships but is not always able to replicate that at Worlds. Back in 2012 he finished sixth in the under 23 World Championship time trial but that is Zmorka's best result. This year finished second at the European Championships last month, just four seconds behind Lammertink. The question is can he reproduce that result on a bigger stage.

Maximilian Schachmann (Germany)

Bronze medal at the European Championship, 16 seconds behind Lammertink but managed to beat out Ryan Mullen by two seconds. In 2014 finished fifth just 38 seconds behind Flakemore and Mullen but with three of the riders ahead of him moving to the senior ranks he will like his chances of finding the podium.

Miles Scotson (Australia)

Scotson is a World Champion on the track and claimed both the time trial and road race at the Australian Championship in January. Missed several months of racing with a knee injury but has bounced back well since. Australians have won four of the last six titles and Scotson will be keen to keen to keep that up. Comes in after finishing fourth at Chrono Champenois.

Davide Martinelli (Italy)

Italian Champion Martinelli has had a very consistent season in one day races but since claiming the Italian title in August hasn't been able to repeat the performance against the clock. Seventh at the European Championship before finishing third at Chrono Champenois earlier this month.

Soren Kragh Andersen (Denmark)

Has been one of the stand out under 23 riders this year. Won two stages and the overall at ZLM Roompot Tour, the prologue and another stage at Tour de l'Avenir plus a stage at the 2.1 rated Tour des Fjords. Has signed with Giant Alpecin for 2016 and while teammate Mads Wurtz Schmidt stands out as a clear favourite in the time trial don't discount him also standing on the podium.

Daniel Eaton (United States)

Eaton is in his final year as an under 23 and has the opportunity to race for gold on US roads. Rides for Axeon Cycling Team and has spent much of the year racing professional races in the Unites States so there is little to compare him with the top under 23 riders. Finished fourth just 38 seconds behind Rohan Dennis at the USA Pro Challenge in a sign he will be a name to watch.

Other names to watch: Scott Davies, Eddie Dunbar, Thery Schir, James Oram and Ruben Pols.
 © 2016