Peloton Watch
  Calendar   2015 Tour Down Under  
Start List
Race Preview
Race Report
Past Winners
  Tour Down Under Report  
  Stage 3

Another uphill start saw a flurry of attacks in the opening kilometres. Former Swiss national Champion Martin Kohler (Drapac) was the first to make a move but was quickly back in the peloton. Two riders managed to bridge to Kohler before being caught shortly after.

An immediate counter by 2012 stage winner in to Stirling Will Clarke also of Drapac was giving room with Clarke building a 25 second advantage quickly. Lasse Norman Hansen (Cannondale-Garmin), Axel Domont (Ag2r La Mondiale) and Calvin Watson (Trek Factory Racing) set off in chase. By the nine kilometre mark the chasing trio had joined Clarke and the group was one minute and 55 seconds ahead of the peloton.

Break of stage Thomas Foods Stage 3. © Regallo

After 25km the four rider break had build an advantage of 3:05 on the peloton. The advantage of the break reached three and a half minutes after 40km. The gap remaining steady for the next 10-15 kilometres before the peloton started to eat in to the advantage bring it down to three minutes with over 60 kilometres completed.

Sprint 1

1 Will Clarke -3"
2 Lasse Norman Hansen -2"
3 Axel Domont -1"

The Sky, has been a regular on the front since stage one and continued to do the majority of the work with UniSA. Heading towards the final 50 kilometres of the stage the gap was down to two and a half minutes.

Movistar joined forces with Team Sky and UniSA to control the break. © Regallo

Sprint 2

1 Will Clarke -3"
2 Lasse Norman Hansen -2"
3 Axel Domont -1"

Domont became the first rider from the break to lose contract with 38.5km remaining. Dual under 23 Australian time trial and road race national champion Miles Scotson was doing most of the chasing. Five kilometres later the gap had climbed back to three minutes as the peloton went through the feed zone.

Sprint 3

1 Will Clarke -3"
2 Lasse Norman Hansen -2"
3 Calvin Watson -1"

As the break and peloton raced towards the first summit finish of the race the gap was dropping fast and was down to just over one minute with 20 kilometres remaining. Norman Hansen was the next ride to be dropped leading just Will Clarke and Calvin Watson up the road.

Calvin Watson soon followed with Will Clarke the lone leader with 15km remaining, though the gap was down to 56 seconds. Giant-Alpecin and Astana moved towards the front. The advantage for Will Clarke was dropping quickly as teams were fighting for position. Giant-Alpecin put their squad on the front with over 10km remaining.

An unfortunate puncture for former BMC rider Tim Roe (Drapac) with 8.5km saw him lose contract. Will Clarke was caught by the peloton with eight kilometres to go. Richie Porte's Sky squad move back to the front to take control heading in to the final climb.

Cadel Evans well protected by his BMC teammates. © Regallo

Heading in to the final turn to start the climb BMC were on the front, with the first rider swinging wide Evans was on the front early. Early on a group of four - Cadel Evans (BMC), Richie Porte (Sky), Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin) and Domenico Pozzovivo (Ag2r La Mondiale) managed to get a gap. Porte was the first to put in a proper attack with Evans quickly on his wheel before the four riders came back together.

Richie Porte puts in an attack with Evans quickly on his wheel. Dennis closing in. © Regallo

The pace in the group had come off just ahead of the KoM point and a group lead by Rohan Dennis (BMC) bridged across with Dennis immediately putting in an attack to take the KoM and solo to the stage win. Evans crossed the line three seconds behind with Tom Dumoulin third.


1 Rohan Dennis 16
2 Domenico Pozzovivo 12
3 Cadel Evans 8
4 Richie Porte 6
5 Tom Dumoulin 4
6 Michael Rogers 2

Overnight race leader Jack Bobridge finished in 29th, 43 seconds behind relinquishing the lead to Rohan Dennis who also took the lead in the mountains and young riders classification. Evans moved in to the lead in the points classification.

Rohan Dennis from BMC Racing wins Thomas Foods Stage 3. © Regallo

Stage 3 Results

1 Rohan DENNIS 3:35:08
2 Cadel EVANS +3
4 Maxime BOUET +5
5 Michael ROGERS +5
6 Richie PORTE +5
7 Jack HAIG +5
8 Ruben FERNANDEZ +5
9 Domenico POZZOVIVO +5
10 Simon GESCHKE +13

General Classification After Stage 3

1 Rohan DENNIS 10:17:06
2 Cadel EVANS +7
4 Richie PORTE +15
5 Jack HAIG +15
6 Ruben FERNANDEZ +15
7 Michael ROGERS +15
8 Maxime BOUET +15
9 Domenico POZZOVIVO +15
10 Daryl IMPEY +22

Full Results available here

Points Classification: Cadel Evans
Mountains Classification: Rohan Dennis
Young Rider Classification: Rohan Dennis
Team Classification: BMC
Most Aggressive: Will Clarke
 © 2016