Peloton Watch
  Calendar   2015 Tour Down Under  
Start List
Race Preview
Race Report
Past Winners
  Tour Down Under Report  
  Stage 5

With only a 500 metre neutral zone it would always going to be an aggressive start. Drapac was active early on and Jack Bobridge (UniSA) following everything in an attempt to extend his lead in the king of the mountains classification. With a group of around 15 forming BMC was quick to shut it down.

Former Australian under 23 time trial and road race champion Jordan Kerby (Drapac) was the next to attack, with Bobridge again marking the move. The duo gained an immediate gap with Greg Henderson of Lotto-Soudal bridging across to make it three leaders. As the break completed the first 10 kilometres their advantage was two minutes and 15 seconds. With the two ascents of Willunga Hill coming late in the stage the peloton was happy to see the break go out reaching a maximum of five and a half minutes after around 40 kilometres.

Greg Henderson leading the break. © Non Pro Cycling

Not wanting to let the lead grow any further the pace in the peloton increased under the lead of BMC. UniSA added Alex Edmonson to the front of the peloton in an attempt to slow down the fast moving peloton. Five kilometres later the peloton had taken around 40 seconds off the advantage.

Approaching the first sprint the gap had fallen to just over four minutes. The break did not contest the sprint with Kerby rolling across first

Sprint 1

1 Jordan Kerby -3"
2 Greg Henderson -2"
3 Jack Bobridge -1"

After the sprint point the gap climbed back to five minutes at around the half way point. Over the next 15-20 kilometres the gap continued to hover between four and five minutes. The majority of the work was being done by the BMC team of race leader Rohan Dennis, with one rider from UniSA contributing.

The peloton lead by UniSA and BMC makes its way along Aldinga Beach. © Regallo

Coming towards the second and final sprint point of the day the pace had really increased with the gap down to just three minutes as other teams started to position near the front of the peloton.

Sprint 2

1 Greg Henderson -3"
2 Jack Bobridge -2"
3 Jordan Kerby -1"

Bobridge leads the break in the mountains classification jersey. © Non Pro Cycling

Despite an increased pace from the breakaway trio the pace in the peloton was increasing faster with Trek, Astana and Sky moving forward. Tinkoff-Saxo and Katusha were the next teams to move forward. The increased pace proved too much for Kerby who was distanced leaving just Bobridge and Henderson off the front.

As the break started the first ascent of Willunga Hill the gap was down to one minute forty seconds with Tinkoff-Saxo now setting the pace on the front of the peloton. Henderson used his last bit of energy to give Bobridge a Madison sling as he started the climb. Bobridge's advantage was quickly dropping on the climb with Astana and Tinkoff-Saxo leading the peloton up.

Bobridge was able to hold off the fast moving peloton lead by Astana to consolidate his lead in the mountains classification.

KoM 1

1 Jack Bobridge 16
2 Dario Cataldo 12
3 Davide Malacarne 8
4 Rohan Dennis 6
5 Cadel Evans 4
6 Luis Leon Sanchez 2

Heading on to the descent it was still Astana with two riders at the front but both Rohan Dennis and Cadel Evans were sitting top five. Bobridge was caught by the front group with just inside 20 kilometres remaining. On the descent Astana took advantage of crosswinds to cause a split in the peloton, Cadel Evans and Rohan Dennis both managed to join them along with two riders from FDJ.

Despite initially working well together the chase from behind lead by Sky and Orica-GreenEDGE with both Impey and Porte having missed the move saw it come back together.

As they started the final climb up Willunga Hill it was Sky and Thomas leading before Orica-GreenEDGE's Cameron Meyer set such a fast pace nobody was able to attack. The pace deterred attacks with Richie Porte the first to go. Dennis and Evans were quickly on his wheel.

Richie Porte launches his first attack on Willunga Hill. © Regallo

A further attack by Porte further split the field. This time only race leader Dennis the only rider able to follow. The duo were quickly up the road leaving those behind scrambling for the final podium spot.

Rohan Dennis marks the move by Richie Porte. © Regallo

Further accelerations by Porte were unable to shake Dennis until inside the final kilometre when a further attack finally distanced Dennis.

KoM 2

1 Richie Porte 16
2 Rohan Dennis 12
3 Ruben Fernandez 8
4 Cadel Evans 6
5 Tom Dumoulin 4
6 Domeniczo Pozzovivo 2

Richie Porte takes back to back wins on Willunga Hill. © Regallo

Porte soloed to win on Willunga for the second year in a row. Dennis fought all the way to the line to finish second, nine seconds behind Porte. The gap was enough to see Dennis retain the race lead by two seconds.

Rohan Dennis collects the Santos Tour Down Under leads jersey. © Regallo

Stage 5 Results

1 Richie PORTE 3:37:32
2 Rohan DENNIS +9
3 Ruben FERNANDEZ +16
4 Cadel EVANS +16
5 Tom DUMOULIN +16
6 Domenico POZZOVIVO +19
7 Tiago MACHADO +24
8 Moreno MOSER +26
9 Gorka IZAGUIRRE +28
10 Arnold JEANNESSON +28

General Classification After Stage 5

1 Rohan DENNIS 17:19:09
2 Richie PORTE +2
3 Cadel EVANS +20
4 Tom DUMOULIN +22
5 Ruben FERNANDEZ +24
6 Domenico POZZOVIVO +31
7 Daryl IMPEY +38
8 Tiago MACHADO +46
9 Gorka IZAGUIRRE +52
10 Jarlinson PANTANO +53

Full Results available here

Points Classification: Daryl Impey
Mountains Classification: Jack Bobridge
Young Rider Classification: Rohan Dennis
Team Classification: Movistar
Most Aggressive: Greg Henderson
 © 2016