Peloton Watch
  2019 Australian Road National Championships - Men's Criterium Preview  
  Caleb Ewan winning the 2018 title. Photo: Con Chronis  
  Three time defending champion Caleb Ewan returns looking for a fourth consecutive criterium crown. With regular podium finisher Brenton Jones back and very strong teams from BridgeLane and Pro Racing Sunshine Coast the two podium regulars both without teammates will have some strong competition for the title.

Start List

Caleb Ewan

Caleb Ewan is going for a fourth consecutive elite title and sixth medal in six years across under 23 and elite categories. It is a new team for Ewan in 2019 and he starts the criterium on his own and will need to count on more than his speed if he wants another title. Being isolated expect to see other teams throw everything they have in attempt to dislodge the man they know is the fastest in the race from the bunch. If he is still there on the final lap will be difficult to beat and is on good form off the back of two wins at Bay Crits.

Brenton Jones

One of the most consistent performers in the criterium with four medals in five years but Brenton Jones is still chasing that gold medal and green and gold jersey. Will 2019 be the year Jones emerges on top? Like Ewan he is without teammates in the race giving him an uphill challenge but that hasn't stopped him finding the podium in the past. Finished off the Bay Crits with second on the final stage though it was Ewan who got the better of him again.

Team BridgeLane

BridgeLane has numbers and cards to play in Scott Bowden and Neil Van der Ploeg they have two very quick sprinters and the numbers with which to control. With riders like Dylan Sunderland, Chris Harper and Ayden Toovey they have other options while also being able to deploy riders to the front to chase down dangerous moves.

Pro Racing Sunshine Coast

In Sam Welsford and Leigh Howard Pro Racing Sunshine Coast have two of the quickest riders in the race with both former medallists. Welsford won under 23 silver in 2016 and Howard elite bronze in 2013. They may not have the numbers of BridgeLane but following them they are the strongest team on paper.


Sunweb trio Chris Hamilton, Jain Hindley and Michael Storer will be names to watch with all three likely to be active in trying to get away. Hamilton won the under 23 title in 2015 from a break and all three have the pedigree to try and make that type of bold move.

Other names to watch: Robert Stannard, Cameron Ivory, Thomas Kaesler, Jay McCarthy, Ben Hill, Shannon Johnson and Guy Kalma.
 © 2016